2021 Excellence in Virginia Government Awards

The L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs at Virginia Commonwealth University is pleased to announce the Excellence in Virginia Government Awards recognition program. EVGA celebrates people and organizations in the public and private sectors who have made significant contributions to the practice of government and the well-being of our communities and citizens.

The program will be virtual; it will be recorded and shared by the VCU Wilder School.

EVGA sponsorships support scholarships for two deserving students each academic year. The program and these scholarships are solely funded by financial sponsorships and contributions.

When: Noon EDT, Thursday, April 15
Where: Via Zoom; link emailed to registrants.

Learn more about sponsorship opportunities.

For general questions or special accommodations, contact Katie Huynh (B.S.’11/B), events and messaging strategist, at huynhkp@vcu.edu.

Award recipients

Award title Recipient
Lifetime Achievement Award The Hon. Robert C. Scott
Hill-Robinson Expansion of Freedom A.E. Dick Howard
Grace E. Harris Leadership John C. Purnell Jr. (M.S.W.’64/SW; M.P.A.’78/GPA)
Unsung Heroes Cristina Dominguez Ramirez (M.P.A.’10/GPA),
Library manager, Henrico County Libraries
Community Enhancement Health Brigade
Karen Legato (M.S.W.’95/SW), executive director
Public-Private Partnership Virginia Housing
Susan Dewey, CEO
Innovation in Government Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice
Valerie Boykin, director
  • 1 Contact information
  • 2 Attendees
    • Please select the number of people attending the event, including yourself.
  • 3 Donation
    • Please consider making a gift in honor of the event, which will support student scholarships at the L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs. To date, over 20 students have benefited from EVGA scholarships totaling over $50,000. Thank you for your generosity!
  • 4 Gift tribute selection
  • Click submit to securely enter your payment information.

  • Submit